Friend Friday: NY Fashion Week.

Friend Friday, arranged by Kate from Modly Chic.


1. Do you pay attention to the shows during fashion week? Which designers collections are you looking forward to seeing?
I do a little, but I have to admit I’m not as well up as some seem to be. I tend to catch up after the event – I love the supplements in the glossies. I’m looking forward to seeing Marc Jacobs – loved the demureness and colour palette of A/W – and Proenza Schouler, whose clothes for me always have that ‘wow’ factor.


2. Where are you getting your Fashion Week news from?
I pool it together from all over the place; I rely on style.com, as most people do, but blogs such as Coco’s Tea Party keep me more informed than I would be normally. And of course, I follow a lot of people on Twitter, so sign in for running commentaries! Love the Guardian’s reports from Fashion Week, too. What I love about the whole blogging scene is that other bloggers notice bits you’ve missed, especially from the smaller designers, so I always have a scout around my faves.


3. Over the years the runway has become more than just models displaying the creations of a designer. They are now spectacles. Do you think that adds or detracts from the fashion?
I’m all for it – I love a bit of spectacle, and it must make the shows thrilling to watch. In theory, surely, it shouldn’t detract from the fashion – if it does, is the show really right for the clothes? I would’ve loved to have seen one of the famous Alexander McQueen shows – why not add a dash of drama to your sartorial cocktail?


4. Twice a year, as models begin to strut the catwalk we see articles about model size and body image. Do you think the super thin models are offering an unattainable goal to the public or are we immune to their looks?
I can’t answer for everyone, as in my experience each person has a very personal response to the use of models in fashion…BUT I will say that the models on the catwalk don’t really affect me. I suspect it’s my own mindset; on the catwalk I see them as a means of displaying the fashion, not a goal to be attained, but in magazines I find it that bit harder. In this instance I would prefer ‘larger’ models (I hate saying that!), if only to show how clothes hang on women with obvious breasts…


5. If you could sit front row at any show what would you want to see? And which celebrity would you want to be sitting next to?
I’d love to see Balenciaga or Balmain up close. Re front row companions: not Alexa Chung – I’d feel so frumpy next to her! Honestly, probably Anna Wintour – she fascinates me. And I’d want to be close enough to Olivia Palermo to talk to her about Topshop…
4 thoughts on “Friend Friday: NY Fashion Week.

  1. I love a spectacle too! And Alexander McQueen in my opinion was the best at putting on a show that captured the imagination of the audience and showcased his clothes."In this instance I would prefer 'larger' models (I hate saying that!), if only to show how clothes hang on women with obvious breasts…"It is so important to see how clothes hang on real bodies – it makes all the difference as to whether the retailers can sell them or not.

Leave a Reply

