I Want Some Spring(/Summer 2011) in My Step.

Hello, chickens. 
I’m conscious that I’ve had my Critical Hat on a lot lately, what with my indignation at Superette, Calvin Klein and Jennifer Aniston in Allure magazine…so as a welcome antidote – and after the crushing realisation that I will never be able to afford this season’s Miu Miu heels – I want to talk to you about shoes. It’ll be as though second-wave feminism never existed… *plants tongue firmly in cheek*


First: the Miu Mius. They were for me one of the highlights of the S/S 2011 shows (in fact, so were the dresses – I wrote briefly about it in my post Miu Miu: Gatsby on Acid? ). Part brogue, part spats, part 30s dancing shoes, the demure shape, metallic leather and neon shades culminated in what I thought were some seriously cool footwear. Want a reminder? Course you do…



What I love about the them is the way they decorate the front of the foot – I’m no fetishist, but there’s something very sensual about the glimpse of the part between ankle and toe, especially when the ankle and toes are hidden. Of course, the ‘corset-style’ lace-up and multiple straps help to eroticise the look a little…

After long deliberation, I’ve decided these are my favourites.

And look how they emphasise the curve of the leg (at least for people with legs like gazelles):



Anyway – I like them. You get it. I had a happy old time discussing with Pearl W which ones I was saving up for…but tragically, as it turned out they retail at Β£700 they won’t be my First Pair of Brand New Designer Shoes after all. But, as we all know, once you’re strung out on something, it’s hard to let it go…which is why I couldn’t resist turning to my faithful old pal the highstreet in search of a fix.

Topshop’s ‘Heels’ banner.

At first it was a bit disheartening – the Dorothy Perkins could do with a bit of metallic spraypaint, and the New Look ones, while sporting the requisite straps, are a little underwhelming:



These Monsoon lovelies at least have a degree of the filigree flourish:

Veering more towards shoeboots – check out the bondage-esque straps on these two offerings from Office.



So far so dull. Where are all the eye-popping brights?! Just as we all yearned for autumn at the tail end of summer, as the grey days drag on I’m now dreaming of spring sunshine – the kind of days that require you to have an array of peeptoe shoes at your disposal to show off a glimpse of your colourful pedicure. Well look no further – Kurt Geiger are bringing the colour this spring. The top lefthand ones also have the nude/yellow/metallic combination that I find so delectable in the Miu Mius…



In the end, though, it looks like ‘neon and metallic leather brogue shoeboots’ is too much to ask from the high street. These MΓ©chante of London are closest in nailing that glitzy roller-derby aesthetic – relatively cheap at under 200 notes. Perhaps flouro-pink toenails would give them the right feel…?! 


So for now, at least, the Miu Miu-shaped gap in my life is here to stay. (As for feminism…just remember, heels may make you as tall as the fellas – but you might not be able to walk at the same pace… )

Which were your favourite shoes from SS 2011?
Would you save for the designer or splurge on the high-street?


24 thoughts on “I Want Some Spring(/Summer 2011) in My Step.

  1. Those KG turquoise ones are brilliant! I love those!

    But really, shoes are difficult for me to decide upon at all, designer or otherwise. I know I’ll just get some basic ones this spring that won’t turn any heads, but they’ll pull together my wardrobe. BUT I am DYING for one designer pair: YSL Deauville wedges. If only I were willing to lay out $700 for a pair of shoes I’d be scared to get dirty. If only… πŸ™‚

    • My my, the Deauville is one classy shoe – what impeccable taste you have!

      You’re absolutely right, though – the chances of my wearing (never mind buying) any turquoise stunners are very slim. But as you say, a girl can dream… πŸ™‚

  2. I agree on (delicate) decorations at the front of the foot, like buckles, lacing, t-straps, jewels… Stylists keep telling me that strapped heels can shorten the leg line, but I think they can be sexy.

    I do like those filigreed Monsoon lovelies!

    My life right now does not require — and even discourages — spending multiple hundreds on delicate footwear. They’d make it through, perhaps, two or three date nights, probably to venues where the hoi polloi wouldn’t even realize what treasures I’ve got on my feet. (Tongue also in cheek, although there’s truth in the observation.)

    • It’s the tragedy of our times, my dear (tongue in cheek again) – we crave the footwear that we are least likely to wear. And a strap slightly lower down the front of the foot is sexy…

  3. The Monsoon ones win for me. I wonder if you could take them to a cobblers and get the front section dyed a neon pink? KG wins on colour but they are platforms, which the MMs aren’t. I say go for a cheap pair and do a home-paint job x

    • You’re tempting me to recklessness, aren’t you, with your revolutionary talk of home paint jobs?!? It never occurred to me to get them dyed at the cobblers – mind you, they’re still out of my price range in the current climate… x

  4. Oh, the blue and brown strappy KGs are amazing. I won a competition four years ago which meant I got twelve pairs of Kurt Geiger shoes for free. God, I miss those days so much!! The Miu Miu shoes are incredible. Maybe keep an eye on River Island? It wouldn’t surprise me if they came out with some approximation shortly…

  5. Firstly those pink feathered ones are amazing!! Second I am holding out for the Miu Miu’s to go on sale – I can feel it, they will be 75% off, they will, they will!! I read Β£610 not that it makes them any more reasonable! xx

    • Bargain!!! Well, as my Miu Miu guru, you must let me know if the pink/silver/nude ones get reduced! I shall live in hope…

      (and yes, the pink feathers are wonderfully mental, aren’t they?! Very impressed with KG)

  6. I recently bought my first designer shoes, and it made such a majassive difference to my feet! LIke they were so comfy and well made and beautiful, that I made a decision never to buy heels from crap brands again.. (this may go away if i see something I really like, or I urgently need new pair!) But tbh, most that I see on high street is, as you said, underwhelming. Just really, awefully uninspiring! Flats are ok, but heels? Bleurgh.. πŸ˜› haha! So although it is a lot more expensive, I think from now I will be buying designer, and the closest to the ‘high street i’ll go will be KG.. (I love the blue and brown ones you posted!) πŸ™‚

    • You are a lucky lucky lady. Financial situation being what it is, even KGs are out of my reach for the time being. I shall keep an eye out for these lovely shoes on your blog…! πŸ˜‰

    • I secretly really really want the pink feathered ones…but if anyone asks, I claim I’m as repulsed as everyone else. Mrs B needs to get a backbone…and a credit card with a bigger limit.

  7. Hi my dear-the Miu Miu ones are all so gorgeous, I do love the neon yellow and the Kurt Geiger pair are just amazing too! Have a great weekend xx

  8. A much as I love Miu Miu and yes these shoes stood out for me too, my budget dictates high street at the moment (well always really). I love the Monsoon ones!

Leave a Reply

