6 Things You May Hate About Me.

It’ll be short and sweet today, as things are quite hectic chez Bossa, what with my prep for the Royal Wedding street party. Ha. Kidding. Between moving house and attempting to dodge the bullet of redundancy, it’s been a fun month so far, and I’m finding it tough to keep on top of everything in the blogging world. I’m also still pondering the results of my recent survey, so keep your eyes peeled for updates.

Anyway – on with the show…

Have you seen the Enchanted Vintage Clothing website? If not, hotfoot it over there sharpish – I promise you’ll find engaging writing and beautiful vintage outfit pics. Jessica, of said blog, has given me a Stylish Blogger Award, which is ever so nice of her. Thanks also to Ann of Annimal’s House, who also nominated me! Her wild and wonderful outfits have to been seen to be believed.


The idea behind the award is to share a bit of your self and pass on links to other blogs that readers may enjoy. Scroll down for my nominations.


So, here goes – six things you may not know about me…



I’m a sucker for facial hair.

You may or may not know that Mr B has a beard, and you may or may not know that I like it very much. He seems to have sent me on a voyage of facial hair appreciation, which runs from the relatively safe ruggedness of Lord of the Rings heroes, to the more controversial moustaches of Tom Selleck and Bella’s dad from Twilight. So sue me.





I love storytelling.

I used to work in public libraries, and getting a classful of 8 year-olds excited about books gave me a real high. I learnt that you don’t have to know how every character talks, or how every animal moves – the kids will tell you. I find it so inspiring being around these little people who have no inhibitions and let there imaginations run riot. The slow-mo jungle scene re-enactment was a highlight for me.

My favourite storybook – funny and dark…


My fancy dress costume of choice would be…
…Judith, from Artemisia Gentileschi’s painting of Judith and Holofernes.

Judith’s the one on the right – would you mess with her?!
Call me twisted, but I always imagined that walking into a party covered in blood and carrying a fake severed head would be a good conversation piece. Beats “what do you do for a living?”, anyway.


Speaking of which…


I once played a flesh-eating woman.
Tempted as I am to leave that hanging, I’ll explain – I was in a production of Euripedes’ The Bacchae, complete with toga, twigs in my hair, and intimate and vigorous dance routines with 10 other women. I’m just glad the director decided against covering us in gravy to make us smell of meat.


Graham Greene is my favourite author.
The author of The End of the Affair and The Quiet American isn’t really ‘in fashion’ anymore, but as soon as I read the first line of Brighton Rock I was hooked; the lean writing, flawed characters and quietly devastating storylines make for incredibly compelling reading.

Julianne Moore/Ralph Fiennes in a scene from The End of the Affair



When it comes to fashion, I love…
…clothes on the borderline of ugly and beautiful. Or fabulous and trashy. Though you may argue that these shoes are just trashy. I can live with that.

I hereby nominate:
SK{ru}SH: this thoughtful blogger is a great writer, and does a mean line in remixing her clothes…
The Sartorial Nerd: Her tagline (‘Feminism. Fashion. Science Fiction.’) is enough for me to recommend her, but if you want fashion with a brain, then this blog is for you.
Northwest is Best: A fellow Mancunian, Jacky does a great mix of quirky outfit posts and feminist critiques. And the girl knits her own knee socks, for goodness sake!
Oranges and Apples: I’d be very surprise if you haven’t read Franca’s blog, but aside from being a fabulous Feminist Fashion Blogger, she also mixes colours like there’s no tomorrow. Feeling trepidation at incorporating yellow into your outfits? A trip to this blog will sort you out.
Aesthetic Alterations: Another brainy lady, she would be worth checking out if only for her jacket collection. However, it’s always a pleasure to read about her life, her art, and her relationship with her partner, the ‘Mystery Photographer’.
Look, Know: A diminutive yet feisty lady with an impressive hosiery collection, Raisa at Look, Know deserves this award for her frankly fearless fashion choices. Get over there, tour de suite.


So tell me – are you harbouring a secret love of beards?!
Which blogs do you recommend?

26 thoughts on “6 Things You May Hate About Me.

  1. WOW- lots to comment on. I, too LOVE it when young people are inspired to read and learn (I still work in education, possibly a sign of a masochistic streak!).

    As for theatre- my friends and I were discussing costumes and roles the other day… I had a similar ‘covered in gravy’ costume. It involved a LOT of dirt, 4 polyester knit sweaters and some deeply dodgy spray on hair dye.

    …and the shoes are beautifully tacky, just FAB.

  2. Ha ha Bella’s dad!! I have to say I am anti masses of facial hair! The worst thing I ever had to dress up as was the wind! I am not joking, in primary school they were obviously pushed for 30 odd parts in a version of the owl and the pussy cat. My costume was a leotard and a belt/skirt of crepe paper. I was not impressed. I used be obseesed with irregular choice shoes when I was at uni, they are so bonkers.

  3. I cannot stop laughing at: walking into a party covered in blood and carrying a fake severed head would be a good conversation piece. Beats “what do you do for a living?”, anyway.
    Best thing I have heard in years, hahahhahahhahah

  4. Haha! What great personal tidbits about you! You are a very interesting lady – would have loved to see you flesh eating woman performance! Mr V gets quite beardy at times and he does look very handsome with facial hair. I agree it can lend some guys a certain sexy je ne sais quoi, but I’m not keen on them usually.

  5. I love when bloggers do these surveys! So fun getting to know my favorite bloggers.

    Your role in The Bacchae sounds like quite a trip! The best role I’ve gotten to play was one of the three weird sisters from Macbeth in one of my English classes in high school. I think that playing creepy characters is way more fun than playing the hero/heroine/damsel in distress/good guys.

  6. Love that shoes – it’s like Carmen Miranda for the feet. I also enjoy reading this jazz. Love the idea of little kids going ‘no – he talks like thiiiis!’.

  7. The End of the Affair is a beautiful film. I’ve never read the book, but now it’s going on my list asap! And I think it’s fabulous you’d love to dress like Judith! She’s got style, plus a good arm. What could be better?

    And thank you so much for passing this on to me. As I said to you over on my blog, I’m in awe of your ability to rock vintage and pencil skirts! It gives me joy seeing them on you.

    • What a lovely thing to say – that offers me some consolation that I can’t pull off biker jackets!

      Judith does have a good arm – beheading a bloke from that angle is no mean feat!

  8. Those shoes are NOT trashy; those shoes are art. And I am on a sabbatical from men now and the thing I miss most is the feel of a man’s beard on my face. I recently discovered Northwest is Best and the Sartorial Nerd–both high-quality and a great addition to any blogroll. I already knew Franca was fabulous and will have to check out the others!

  9. It must be the nosey in me, but, I LOVED finding out all this stuff about you! So interesting. I would like to accompany you to a party where we arrive with severed heads… imagine the talk. I never read brighton rock, but, Ive been thinking about it since seeing the film. Might take a trip to my local used book store and see if it or any of the others are lurking about, I need a new good read, its been ages.
    I like a little stubble… there is something kind of hawt about it…thanks for the lovely compliments mrs b. x

    • No worries, Jezebel!!

      Which version of Brighton Rock have you seen? I was psyching myself up for the recent one, but it seems to have sunk without a trace. I wholeheartedly recommend it, and The Power and the Glory – I finished that one…and turned back to the beginning and read it again! X

      • I saw the new one. I really loved it, but, I never saw the original so Id be interested to know what you think… if you can locate it to watch that is!

        Jessica Robinsonhttp://enchantedvintageclothing.com/http://www.vintageclothing.ie/catalog/

  10. Your 6 things make you all the more intriguing! And I too appreciate the fine line between tacky and fabulous, actually I don’t really know where to draw it! And beards are perfectly fine, my husband doesn’t like to wear one but he gets a 2 o’clock shadow which is very handsome indeed! I’m looking forward to checking out a few new (to me) blogs you listed, thanks for sharing!!

  11. Ooh, I love Graham Greene. “The Quiet American” is always being pushed at you if you visit Vietnam, and I finally bought a copy just to ward off vendors, and was hooked–yes, crisp and flawless and understates but monumental. I fall in love with his characters every time.

  12. Am moving to a new apartment and so haven’t been keeping up with my blog, or anyone else’s for the last couple of weeks. Thanks for letting us in on a few fascinating tidbits about the elusive Mrs. Bossa! I’m not fond of beards, but I love when a guy hasn’t shaved for a couple of days and gets a bit of a scruffy look–sexy!
    Spent a lot of time in libraries growing up, still love a good story told well and Graham Greene definitely does that–just watched the film version of The Quiet American with Michael Caine, worth watching.

Leave a Reply

